May Reading List!

I’m hoping this month turns out a little more interesting than last month, although I’m going to blame getting sucked into that terrible young adult series The Red Queen for my lackluster reading. Already this month promises to be better. I’m into two of the books on my list and I love both. I’ve also thrown in a couple guilty pleasure books to keep me from getting too off track like April. My selections for this month are:

  1. The Lost City of the Monkey God by Douglas Preston
  2. The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  3. My Life in France by Julia Child (BR #8)
  4. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
  5. Glass Tepee by Garry Gottfriedson
  6. Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda
  7. The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid
  8. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  9. Regeneration by Pat Barker
  10. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See
  11. Voyager by Diana Gabaldon
  12. American War by Omar El Akkad (BoTM)
  13. The Relic Master by Christopher Buckley
  14. The Vegetarian by Han Kang
  15. The Leavers by Lisa Ko (BoTM)
  16. The Alienist by Caleb Carr (BoTM)

So far, Douglas Preston’s book reads splendidly and so does The Relic Master which was a random pick the other night on Scribd to read before falling asleep. Well, now I can’t sleep because I want to keep reading. There are a few holdovers from last month but that’s just because I really want to read My Life in France and Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go. Otherwise I’ve loaded it up with a ton of historical fiction just to get me back in the swing of things. I’ve read far too much dystopian literature lately and need a break. I already live in a dystopia. I don’t need to inhabit one when I try to escape in a book for awhile.

Have you read any of these? See something you’d like to read with me? Let me know in the comments! Help me stick to my list this month.

Leave a Reply

