April Reading List!

This month is shaping up to be a good one! I always have to be careful when I come up with my monthly list, because, if I don’t watch myself, I’ll end up with a TBR pile larger than the windowsill I keep each month’s picks on. Some of these are longer than what I’ve been reading in previous months, but since I’m almost a full month ahead of schedule to complete my 100 book goal for 2017, I thought I’d get in some bricks and relax a little. April’s selections are as follows:

  1. This Way to Sugar by Hieu Minh Nguyen
  2. The Crown Ain’t Worth Much by Hanif Willis-Abdurraqib
  3. Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh
  4. A Condor Brings the Sun by Jerry McGahan
  5. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe (Classic)
  6. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  7. The Mothers by Brit Bennett (BR #2)
  8. The Beauty and the Beast by Gabrielle Suzanne Barbot de Villeneuve
  9. Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  10. Letters to a Young Muslim by Omar Saif Ghobash
  11. My Life in France by Julia Child (BR #8)
  12. One Day We’ll All Be Dead And None Of This Will Matter by Scaachi Kaul (BoTM)
  13. Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann (BoTM)
  14. American War by Omar El Akkad (BoTM)
  15. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  16. The Unfinished World by Amber Sparks
  17. All Souls’ Rising by Madison Smartt Bell

I have to admit, the book I’m most excited to read is Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh. I read the first book in the Ibis Trilogy almost two years ago. Sea of Poppies, the first novel, was nominated for the Man Book Prize and is a must-read for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. It takes place in the run-up to the Opium Wars between China and Great Britain in the first half of the nineteenth century. The second book, River of Smoke, may not quite measure up to its predecessor, but is no less a book because of it. These books are dense and a bit confusing with an incredible, rich cast of characters, so they’re not easy to binge-read. As a result, it’s been a year since I finished River, but I am so ready for Flood of Fire!

The edition of The Beauty and the Beast I have listed is a new release with incredible illustrations, fold-out maps, and other interactive art. I saw someone reading this edition on Instagram and I knew I absolutely had to have it. Check my Instagram this month to see photos of the inside of this beautiful book.

Book of the Month really came through for April. Of their five selections, I picked three. I’ve realized I’m a sucker for smart women writing awesome essays, and that’s exactly what One Day We’ll All Be Dead And None Of This Will Matter by Scaachi Kaul promises to deliver. I’m sure this will be one I’ll be compelled to review. Many of you may not know, but I am passionate about indigenous studies, especially American Indian history, which is why I couldn’t pass on David Grann’s new investigative piece Killers of the Flower Moon. Grann chronicles the murders of Osage Indians in Oklahoma in the 1930s. At the time, the Osage Indians were the wealthiest tribe in the United States due to rich oil deposits on their land, but due to a predictable blight of racism and white nationalism, the Osage Indians were murdered and systematically forced from their valuable land. The murders eventually lead to the formation of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, which Grann details.

The third book I ordered from Book of the Month was a dystopian novel American War written by Omar El Akkad. The setting is 2074 in an America now considerably shrunk due to rising ocean levels. The country is now divided in a second civil war, except the contention this time is not slavery, but the use of fossil fuels. The South continues to burn coal, oil, and gas, whereas the North is entirely renewable. El Akkad follows a young southern refugee through the crisis. Reviews indicate that it is both deeply relevant and extremely well written. I can’t wait for my box to arrive!

Have you read any of these books on my list? Want to do a buddy read this month? Have some thoughts on my choices? Comment below! I love getting to know fellow bibliophiles!

 

Leave a Reply

