March Reading List

Time for this month’s reading list! It’s a long one, but my goal is to read eight to keep me on track for reading 100 books this year. If a book satisfies my classics challenge or the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge, I’ll mark it as such.

  1. Waking Up White by Debby Irving
  2. Men Explain Things to Me by Rebecca Solnit
  3. Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America by Michael Eric Dyson
  4. Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude by Ross Gay
  5. A Sunday at the Pool in Kigali by Gil Courtemanche
  6. Island of a Thousand Mirrors by Nayomi Munaweera (RHC #24)
  7. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (RHC #15)
  8. Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
  9. Accidental Saints by Nadia Bolz-Weber
  10. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller (Classic)
  11. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
  12. Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (BoTM)
  13. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
  14. Mischling by Affinity Konar
  15. All Souls Rising by Madison Smartt Bell
  16. Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

I am reading Waking Up White by Debby Irving as part of a lectionary for Lent. Supposedly we’re supposed to just read a set number of pages a week, but knowing me, I’ll probably finish it in two days and forget everything by the end of Lent. I’m excited for the next two on the list. Rebecca Solnit is a widely hailed essayist, and I’ve been trying to read every reputable book about race I can get my hands on these days, so Dyson’s book should fit well.

I only have one book of poetry this month, but I might end up reading a few more that I haven’t listed, since, as I’ve mentioned before, my mom has a habit of just handing me collections. Most are easily readable in a sitting, so I might as well.

A few books I’m extremely excited about include Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders, And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini, and Exit West by Mohsin Hamid. Both Saunders’ and Hamid’s books are ones I’ve been waiting to read for at least six months. I also own Hamid’s first book The Reluctant Fundamentalist but I haven’t read it yet. Hopefully I’ll love Exit West and feel compelled to read his first work. Khaled Hosseini’s book is one I’ve had sitting on my shelf since it came out (I actually preordered it back in 2013) but never managed to read. I’m now a third of the way through it, and it is thoroughly enthralling. It is reminding me of all the ways Hosseini became my favorite author.

All in all, I am hoping for a better month in books than February. I’ll be posting a few reviews in the coming days, so keep your eyes peeled and I’ll try to keep up with reviews as I finish books this month. No promises, though.

If you have a Goodreads account, be sure to add me!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

